windows 10

likeaneagle

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
14,183
Likes
163
#1
I cant even play my own DVD's on it.. any suggestions besides shooting it would be most welcome!:bug:
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,185
Likes
446
#3
You need to download an app to do it which they will try to charge you for, better off using VLC which is better than windows shit media player anyways. I'll have a look in your computer later Lynn to see if it's 32 or 64 bit...
 

likeaneagle

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
14,183
Likes
163
#4
I think its a 32 bit Ive downloaded real player normally when put a DVD in it media player comes up!... nope, not this time!!!
 

TwiztedAngel

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
6,511
Likes
4
#5
Windows 10 is known to delete drivers for some hardware such as the CD / DVD rom. Even after switching back to Windows 8.1, I still had to get an external drive so I could install software discs.

Also ... any software that Windows thinks might have been pirated will be deleted.
 

likeaneagle

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
14,183
Likes
163
#6
Windows 10 is known to delete drivers for some hardware such as the CD / DVD rom. Even after switching back to Windows 8.1, I still had to get an external drive so I could install software discs.

Also ... any software that Windows thinks might have been pirated will be deleted.[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B]
thanks T.A.. Do you know what I like about windows 10 ??? Friggen nothing!!!:kiss:
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,185
Likes
446
#9
[QUOTE="stevent222, post: 4772004]I have windows 7 now and not wanting to add windows 10 gonna wait until 14.[/QUOTE]


You'll have a long wait as they are not doing anymore, just updating 10 as far as I can read.
 

likeaneagle

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
14,183
Likes
163
#11
10 /10???? I give it a sweet fuck/all.................windows 10 changed over for me,,,,,,,,,,,,,wonder if they would mind changing it back???? for free? I think not!
 

TwiztedAngel

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
6,511
Likes
4
#12
Factory Reset was the only thing I could do to make my lappy usable again. Microshaft can shove 10 where the sun refuses to shine. Thankfully, I had all my best software on external HD back-up.

Look how long they made people suffer the indignities of Vista before they made anything better.
 

Manzy

Jokeroo VIP Status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
58,717
Likes
1,056
#13
This morning when I got on my computer it was trying to download windows 10 it was at the point of accept terms and services I declined
and it reloaded my Windows 7 back my question is how do you get rid of the windows 10 icon on the task bar I unplugged my computer but its still there?
 

muchtrouble10

Jokeroo Legend
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
110,284
Likes
704
#15
They DO give you one month to change back. I've decided that if I have it on one computer, I might as well have it on both. It has been about a week and a half since I got the new computer...but taken slowly (and with help and encouragement from my friends) I have gotten to the point where I think I can live with it and will allow them to change my laptop on Sunday. (The day they "scheduled")
 

Bamber

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
41,927
Likes
772
#17
[QUOTE="Manzy, post: 4888657]This morning when I got on my computer it was trying to download windows 10 it was at the point of accept terms and services I declined
and it reloaded my Windows 7 back my question is how do you get rid of the windows 10 icon on the task bar I unplugged my computer but its still there?
[/QUOTE]
There is a quick(ish) way to remove it:


Click the Start button
In the search box type cmd.exe DO NOT HIT ENTER
The list box above the typing area should have a cmd icon. Right click it and select "Run as administrator"
In the window which appears, type wusa /uninstall /kb:3035583 and hit enter
When the uninstall has completed you can close the cmd window
Reboot to ensure changes take effect.


The next time windows downloads updates it will probably have update kb3035583 (the Windows 10 prompt) again. When you see that you have updates ready to run, got to the update screen (Start; Control Panel; Windows update). Click on the Important updates, find kb3035583, right click it and select Hide update. The W10 prompt should not appear again, unless (like me) you have a clean up program which removes the "Hide update" file, in which case you will need to perform the "Hide" process every time it comes through again.

I ALWAYS check what updates are going to be installed when I see there are updates ready to load; once you get used to it it only takes a couple of minutes.
 

Manzy

Jokeroo VIP Status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
58,717
Likes
1,056
#18
KB3035583[/URL]
The icon should disappear on it's own after June 29th anyway the deadline for the free upgrade...
I checked and I did have it set to auto update I've now changed it to ask me before and thank you for the info :)
 

Manzy

Jokeroo VIP Status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
58,717
Likes
1,056
#19
[QUOTE="Bamber, post: 4888860]There is a quick(ish) way to remove it:


Click the Start button
In the search box type cmd.exe DO NOT HIT ENTER
The list box above the typing area should have a cmd icon. Right click it and select "Run as administrator"
In the window which appears, type wusa /uninstall /kb:3035583 and hit enter
When the uninstall has completed you can close the cmd window
Reboot to ensure changes take effect.


The next time windows downloads updates it will probably have update kb3035583 (the Windows 10 prompt) again. When you see that you have updates ready to run, got to the update screen (Start; Control Panel; Windows update). Click on the Important updates, find kb3035583, right click it and select Hide update. The W10 prompt should not appear again, unless (like me) you have a clean up program which removes the "Hide update" file, in which case you will need to perform the "Hide" process every time it comes through again.

I ALWAYS check what updates are going to be installed when I see there are updates ready to load; once you get used to it it only takes a couple of minutes.[/QUOTE]

Thank you Bamber I will do that... :)
 

muchtrouble10

Jokeroo Legend
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
110,284
Likes
704
#20
At first, I thought I could learn it...but the more I try the more impossible it seems.Things that were there in the beginning have now disappeared and stuff I don't want is there right on top. It seems the system only shows what you use the most and hides the rest. Unfortunately, the things I consider most important are things I don't use often. From what I can see, it only wants me to use what it gives me!