Getting redirects

Bamber

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
49,916
Myself, StevenT and Konifur have all been getting redirected from Jokeroo. The only solution I have found is to turn on adblocker.

Jokeroo is vulnerable to this kind of attack as it is an unsecured site (http:// rather than https://) and uses Revcontent ads which are particularly prone to attack.
 

roadkill

Jokeroo Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
26,988
yesterday afternoon..while viewing the threads..my antivirus caught and blocked a web page from opening..it was a JS something or other in chrome..i wish i had of wrote it down for you
 

Bamber

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
49,916
I have tries a dozen different cleanup programs and none of them are finding anything; damned frustrating!:tantrum:
 

brilor

Jokeroo Legend
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
206,275
I keep getting files downloaded to my Mac when ever I respond to a post. I send them to the trash right away without opening. Beware!
 

roadkill

Jokeroo Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
26,988
you are right about it being in the ads though
brilor has a thread in society about what is happening to him on his mac
you may want to move that thread to general support
 

Bamber

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
49,916
I'm going to move this thread to General Support. :grin:
 

Bamber

Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
49,916
Do you have an adblocker Bri? If so, try turning it on to see if the downloads stop.
 

squirt

Administrator
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
814,591
I've merged the 2 threads ... and I've sent an email to Chris ... but got an immediate (auto) response saying he's out of the office until the 27th
I may try his new tech guy :thinking:
do what you have to do to take care of yourselves and your computers via ad-blockers, I think he's making enough money off spammer clicks ...
 

squirt

Administrator
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
814,591
dang, that was quick! lol maybe I should try him more often lol
slava is here, looking into the issue (I think! lol)
 

roadkill

Jokeroo Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
26,988
seems to be fixed for me..i disabled adblocker and seems ok now more ads either

...that was really quick
 

stevent222

Jokeroo Immortal Super *Star* & all around NiceGuy
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
352,372
[QUOTE="konifur, post: 5034318]:like2:

Yep, this worked for me.

https://adblockplus.org/[/QUOTE]

Just added this one also. Thanks Konifur and Bamber for the help.
 

Manzy

Jokeroo VIP Status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
69,118
I'm still using ad blocker I see some on the bottom just to be safe
 

muchtrouble10

Jokeroo Legend
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
111,228
I had the same problem but wasn't here enough to figure out it was from here. However, it seems to be gone again, so I thank you! The longer I have Windows 10, the more I am thinking of just giving up the computer. It seems I can't check things or correct anything that bothers me. I can't even find stuff I KNOW I have. (Did I ever tell you that I HATE change??? lol)
 

konifur

Jokeroo Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
53,736
I hated windows 10 so i went back to good old windows 7.
 

stevent222

Jokeroo Immortal Super *Star* & all around NiceGuy
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
352,372
I was told that windows 10 was more for lap tops so I didn't change from 7.
 
Top