Tubes grab "am while they last

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
[QUOTE="GracieMae, post: 3740054]Hi guys, I'm new around here but you seem like a great bunch. I came here a few days ago to get some help but have spent most of my time since then looking at some of the threads here and helping myself to a few things, for which I thank all who post freebies.

I can't figure out the best thread to ask my question, so as this one is about tubes and so is my question, here goes....

I have found quite a lot of tubes which are from PSP earlier versions so version 9 does not recognise them as tubes, is there a way to convert them other than one at a time using the PSP import command? I've found loads of links for scripts to convert FROM tubes to PNG.

Hope I haven't posted in the wrong place and thanks in advance for any advice offered.[/QUOTE]


Can you post a few here so we can look at them.
 

squirt

Administrator
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
818,426
[QUOTE="hortysir, post: 3740286]You can't simply open it and "save as" and select .png????

:thinking:[/QUOTE]

open it where? I think her problem is that it's opening in PSP 9 with black background instead of a transparent one
 

hortysir

Jokeroo Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
36,037
with any picture viewer or even explorer


?????????


You know how long it's been since I've PSP'd
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
[QUOTE="squirt, post: 3740345]open it where? I think her problem is that it's opening in PSP 9 with black background instead of a transparent one[/QUOTE]

Not so sure, I can make something in pspx2 and try and open it in psp9 and it will say not a valid psp9 file, which is why I need more info on the problemo...
 

GracieMae

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
7
I think you must have misunderstood what I said. I have earlier tubes, if I put them in my tubes folder they don't show up at all when I browse my tubes in the program. I believe they need to be called .tub or .psp tube
These are just called gif or jpg and I can convert them using the IMPORT command but only one at a time which is a pain! So I am looking for something which can convert a few at a time
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
Why not just keep them all in a folder in my documents rather than in the tubes in PSP? That just makes it take longer to load.
 

GracieMae

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
7
Because I want to use them as tubes, I assume from your reply the answer to my question is that there is no way to convert more than one at a time?
 

squirt

Administrator
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
818,426
what he's telling you is that you can use them as tubes from a folder in my documents, that's how I store all my tubes, in MY PICTURES
then to open in PSP 9, I just right click on the pic and click on OPEN IN PSP 9

the only thing I have in my tubes folder in PSP 9 is sparkles
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
[QUOTE="GracieMae, post: 3740815]Because I want to use them as tubes, I assume from your reply the answer to my question is that there is no way to convert more than one at a time?[/QUOTE]

Not the tubes here in png form, as far as I know the only way is as you say, import them one at a time unless someone knows different. Which is why most keep them in a separate folder.
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
[QUOTE="GracieMae, post: 3741005]guess I'll just have to import one at a time :p
Thanks[/QUOTE]

Up to you, but as I said earlier too many and you will slow the program down to a crawl.
 

GracieMae

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
7
That used to happen in earlier versions but in version 9 you can have loads of folders for tubes and just enable the one(s) you are using, that's what I do and I have no problem at all with speed of program
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
I bow to your greater knowledge, I guess we can't help you.
 

GracieMae

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
7
Not trying to be funny,just to explain why I need to convert them. I know not all of us do the same things with our graphics but I love to mess around with tubes. If I have them saved as jpg, gif, png, tga or whatever then they are not tubes so, for example if I have this graphic:-


And I want to use it to do something like this:-

Or this:-


I can't until it's a tube so I keep all my tubes in my tube folders as I use them all the time. Unfortunately it looks as though I will have to convert them all one at a time...ah well, here goes!
 

Just Debbie

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
9,539
[QUOTE="squirt, post: 3740345]open it where? I think her problem is that it's opening in PSP 9 with black background instead of a transparent one[/QUOTE]

That happens to me sometimes and if it does,I open them in ani and copy and paste in psp. :)
 

Just Debbie

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
9,539
GracieMae....

Question: Are your images already tubed (no backgrounds) ?
 

Just Debbie

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
9,539
and if not is it that you are wanting to take a lot of them at once and covert them into tubes?
 

GracieMae

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2011
Messages
7
[QUOTE="Just Debbie, post: 3741464]and if not is it that you are wanting to take a lot of them at once and covert them into tubes?[/QUOTE]

Both actually, debbie but earlier version tubes didn't have the tub extension so psp 9 doesn't recognise them. They have no backgrounds and I want to give them the .tub or .psp tube extension but one at a time using the export command is painful!
 

Just Debbie

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
9,539
could do it if psp 9 can recognise png not sure bout' converting multiple to .psp or .tub just yet
 

kipper

Super Moderator
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
29,566
[QUOTE="GracieMae, post: 3741505]Both actually, debbie but earlier version tubes didn't have the tub extension so psp 9 doesn't recognise them. They have no backgrounds and I want to give them the .tub or .psp tube extension but one at a time using the export command is painful![/QUOTE]

To import tubes from earlier versions there are free converters. I thought you needed to convert a png file (snagged from here for example) to a tube, If so it would need to be in this format.

[jimg]heia/z3/Y/o/g/d/a.aaa.jpg[/jimg]

In which case I think the only way is one at a time with the import.
 
Top